Why Colorado? 

It’s Monday. My hair is up (this is an indicator of the type of day it’s going to be). I wanna go snuggle back into bed. It was frosty and cold when I left for work and Pikes Peak, the frigid old bitch that she is, was newly snow covered and mocking me. I’m frozen today. 

Because I grew up in Washington, lived there my whole life, moving to Colorado Springs was an adjustment. Not a huge adjustment, but it did take a few months to acclimate to the altitude. I’m aware that I got lucky to end up somewhere that has mountains, and all four seasons, and some of the same type of landscape that I’m used to. I really do like it here. 

When I decided to leave my husband not long after we moved here I got the expected questions: are you coming back home? Are you coming back to Washington? 

The answer was very simply, no, I’m not. Not yet anyway. Here’s why…

When we first found out we were moving here I wasn’t over the moon happy. I was actually reticent about it and not sure if I’d like it here. I knew USAA was here and after having worked in insurance for the better part of 10 years I knew that when it came time to start working again it could be an easy job to get. I was right. 

I’ve been in the industry long enough to be tired and bored with what all it entails. Insurance really isn’t something I consider exciting and fun. I have my BS in communication studies with a minor in business, but insurance chose me. When I first started working in the business I was headhunted. The rest is history, and a little boring honestly.

Here’s the thing about USAA…it’s AMAZING! The company is so great, and I literally cannot speak highly enough of it. The people, the members, the company. Love all of it. I could list all of the great things here, but that’s not what this post is about. However, reason number one to stay here is my job. Not just because of how great the company treats its employees either…I actually for once love what I do. 

There’s something so meaningful and fulfilling about working with veterans and active duty military members and their families. I can’t tell you how proud I am to help those that have served our country. Our membership is absolutely the best, and I go to work every day thankful that I get to do such an important job. 

That’s my “I couldn’t love my job more” speil. Insurance or not, I’m pretty happy at work. 

Reason number two for staying here: my son’s father is still stationed here. He’s a great dad, and my sweet boy loves him. He’s a big daddy’s boy right now. I can’t under good conscience take him from his daddy. They’re like two peas in a pod, and a boy needs his father. 

The final reason for me to stay has to do with my heart. Everything I do is heart based and felt. I follow what I feel is the right thing to do. I don’t think my time here is up yet. I like it here. There’s something more exciting about Colorado than Washington for me, and…I’ve met some great people here. 

Colorado is slowly but surely feeling like home. For now. I’d be lieing if I didn’t tell you all… I have the travel bug. I wanna finally go overseas, see the world. I’m not sure how that’ll happen as a single parent paying the kind of rent that is more than a little obscene, but I’m not one to give up. 

I’m going to finally get my passport, because you can’t travel anywhere out of the country without that, and then…plan. Daydream. Scheme. There’s still a spark in me that is ready to live a little more. Conquer my fears and expand my own perspective and horizons. I will get there…I have no doubt. 

Happy Monday! Hope the week goes well. 

Leave a Reply

