Fries are lunch right?

It’s been rough going lately friends. We have a lot going on this week, and my baby has been a little off his feed. That’s what my mom says when the dog doesn’t eat well for a day or two and so I used it in this instance too. Av’s schedule is all off, or his tummy is, I’m not sure which. I realize as a toddler your tastes are sometimes vast and varied and other times more limited and particular. He is leaning towards the “eat nothing but dry Kix” type of diet these days. I try all sorts of stuff. He only eats about 1/8 of what I attempt to feed him right now. This trend gives me stress since he’s already a little under weight, and because he’s a growing boy! He needs more to go on than a handful of yogurt covered raisins. Right?!

Anyway, we had our assessment with the guild school today and I think that went well considering I couldn’t get bubba to eat breakfast (a handful of Kix in the car doesn’t count does it?) and his normal nap time is between 11 am and 12:30 and our appointment was scheduled to go until 11. He also isn’t sleeping well (I’m convinced the eating poorly and sleeping poorly are connected) and last night he was up from 2-4 am. That’s a recipe for a melt down if I’ve ever heard one, and I knew if he didn’t have one I might.

So here we are with 4 professionals assessing my sweet baby in a chilly room and the kid is only wearing a diaper, and he only ate 10 Kix, and it’s 10:30am…and I just kept praying he didn’t start throwing things at the nice ladies trying to play with him and get him to talk. I should back up…the diaper only thing is normal apparently. They want to see all of his joints and limbs and stuff while he’s climbing/walking/swinging, etc.

We have a follow up appointment with the consulting doctor for the guild school tomorrow, and it will be interesting to see what he has to say. Especially since he was the first doctor to examine Av as a baby after he was born and talk to us about his MMA (another story for a different time).

Naturally after we left this appointment this morning I gave him more dry Kix in a plastic baggie in the car, and then drove through the drive up window at McD’s so the kid could get his daily allowance of fat and salt…oh yeah and what little nutritional value there is to fried potatoes. He told me to “go long” before he hurled the apple slices that come with the happy meal back at me, and the nuggets he slipped to the dogs when I was picking up the apples. Little bugger.

This momma is exhausted and coming off of a stress fest, so I was thankful for the quiet that work has provided. I realize how that sounds, and believe me, I’d much rather be at home with the cranktastic toddler, than at work. I just needed a quiet momment to myself, and I’ve mentioned my crocheting projet that I keep at work.

In other news, I may be changing the look and possibly the name of this blog stay tuned.

Next post will be about food because I’m loooong overdue and I have a few recipes to share and things to say about meals at my house lately.

Thanks for listening all. Happy Tuesday!

3 thoughts on “Fries are lunch right?

  1. I really like the title of your blog.
    Sorry your kids are giving you so much stress with the challenging diets. If it makes you feel better, I’m sure many parents – myself included – know just want you mean.

  2. Haha, my daughter is much like your son. My son however is the total opposite. Sometimes I also will get McDonalds fries for her just so she eats something! 🙂

Leave a Reply

