Book eater

In the last couple of months I have gotten into reading again.  I took such a long time off that I now feel like instead of savoring the story I am consuming the books whole.  I am greedy about my books. I covet new books. I plot and buget my book spending. I reward myself with reading. I have gone over the edge and am now planning my next book purchase. I’m so absorbed that I’m currently reading 3 books at once and I am buying a new book…soon! Unless I can stop myself somehow.

To be clear, it’s not that I’m getting high from reading, but it has turned into an addiction of sorts I think. Don’t worry, no intervention needed, I’m just surprised about this!

I’ve always been an avid reader,  but lately it’s like I’m trying to make up for lost time.  Here’s the list of books read by me in the last month:

Beautiful Ruins
The fault in our stars
Looking for Alaska
The odds,
Let it snow
Godforsaken idaho
Every day,
Stardust

I’m in the middle of reading The Signature of All Things, The Art of Racing in the Rain, and Divergent.

I’ve started taking pictures of book covers so I can remember to get books I think look good, and I have a running list of books I want.

I used to have to take breaks between books. Absorb the story into my mind, let it do what it will.  I felt extremely different after some books were finished, and merely entertained by others.  The books I’ve been gobbling up lately still change me, but in more subtle ways. I take only a few hours to mull over my recent read. I’ve got so much more to read I can’t slow down!

I think my stress is lower lately because of my book reading. I actually feel like my “addiction” is healthy.

In other news, I’m down 4lbs since last week. We’ll see how this week turns out. There is veggie soup in the crock pot today, and last night was boring grilled chicken and steamed veggies. I am making ww cookies tonight though…I’ll let you know how they turn out!

image

One thought on “Book eater

Leave a Reply

