Miss me?! Here’s some yummy soup…

So, yeah, it’s been a while. What’s up? How’s life? How were the holidays?

I have officially welcomed in the new year with a new positive attitude and a constant smile on my face. Things are great, and I’m finding ways to stay positive daily.

Our holidays were busy, chaotic, but fun. I took Av on a road trip to see my brother snd sister, and that was really stressful but necessary.  We had a good time, and bubba got lots of cuddles and love, but it’s hard to strap a busy toddler into the car for 5 hours each way. We only get to see my siblings about twice a year though, and my parents were going over to drop off presents and visit so we decided to ride along with.

The rest of our holidays were very enjoyable and full of smiles,  food, and cheer. I’ll post some pictures. Let me say though.. I’m back on the healthy eating wagon. My cholesterol isn’t great, my bmi isn’t great, and my health in general isn’t great. I worked on the mental portion and now I have to work on the physical. I’m doing WW with the military wives, and the support group has been helping.

In regards to Avery’s MMA, we aren’t doing shots right now, and he can eat anything he wants. Yay!!

There’s the update, and here’s the health conscious recipe that my husband says is the best thing I’ve ever made.

Crockpot ww sausage minestrone soup
(Remember:I’m a non-measurer, so these are estimates)
3/4 cup chopped onion
3 cloves minced garlic
2 tbl olive oil
1 lb italian sausage, as lean as possible
48 oz of low sodium fat free chicken broth
14 oz of petite diced tomatoes
1 small zucchini, diced
3 carrots, diced
2 celery stalks, diced
1 bag of frozen green beans
1 can of cannellini beans
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp basil
1/2 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp thyme
1 bay leaf
*note- you could add small diatelli pasta to add more texture, but I was going for lower carbs and calories

Heat a skillet with the olive oil in it and saute the onions, garlic and zucchini till lightly brown and fragrant. Cook the sausage, breaking it up till completely cooked and then throw it and the rest of the ingredients into the crockpot and cook on low for 8 hours, or high for 6. That’s it! Delish! You could also top with some parm or cheddar,  but I served it as is.

It was about 10 servings when all said and done and 6 points per serving. Yummy!!!

Promise to post more recipes soon. I baked a LOT over Christmas and New Years. 
image

Leave a Reply

