Twins, toddlers, and too much fun

I wore myself out this last weekend. We went and looked at houses that we can’t afford, visited our friends who just had twins, and did a fantasy football draft. In the middle of all of that my husband golfed, my little sister was in town for a wedding, and I cooked exactly….nothing.

It’s now Monday, and I’m wishing I had another weekend day to just rest and lay around watching garbage TV and cooking something scrumptious. Too bad scrumptious doesn’t exactly help me fit back into my skinny jeans.

I bought larger jeans today instead of watching my diet and exercising more. I told myself it was only one pair till I drop the extra 30lbs again…but who am I kidding. We’re heading into my favorite food season…fall!

I went into this last weekend fully intending to get some things done in our apartment, but neglected everything but showering and brushing my teeth.

The realtor we saw on Saturday was very nice, and gave us a lot of information about the housing development…that my husband rapidly ruled out. Too hilly, too confusing, but most of all too expensive. We can get more for our money in a new housing development a lot further east from where we are now. It’s an up and coming neighborhood though so we have to move fast. I’m finishing up our pre-approval application this week, and I have to contact the realtor back. I’m a little worried we’re going to get in over our heads but there’s no signature on the dotted line yet. I have lots more time to fret and change my mind a million more times.

The twins we visited this weekend were so small, and I thought would make me wanna have more. Instead it made me thankful I had one and made it through his infant hood somewhat sane. My friend Jessica looked at her wits end and those babies are only 10 days old. I remember parts of “the early days” really we’ll and some things I don’t remember. Makes me worry I’m not going to be able to talk myself into one more and I want little man to have a sibling. My childhood wouldn’t have been the same without my brother and sister.

I shared what I remember from when my son was brand new, told her to call me if she needed any advice, and we left them in peace.

Sunday was a cluster_____, and when it was all said and done I just wanted to sleep. My husband did his football draft though, and we saw some good friends. I spent the evening chasing down our now running toddler and wishing I’d just stayed home. There I can contain him better. I must have done about 3 dozen sets of stairs (that’s bubba’s new thing. He figured out how to go up, not down, so I have to rescue him when he gets stranded.)

All in all I’m pretty happy with the weekend results except my energy level is a little lower than last week. Where did all my pep go?!

Leave a Reply

