Breakfast cookie?

004

I missed my usual breakfast this morning and I’m kinda convinced that is why my anxiety level feels a little higher today. That may not be the cause but who knows. I got hooked on Belvita cookies about 2 months ago when I needed a quick breakfast to get me out the door and help calm my low blood sugar crankies. I’m a creature of habit so when I run out of them I tend to have a rough day at work. I’m also a total sucker and here is where my own special brand of neurosis comes in…if someone tells me something will even out my blood sugar, I will eat it. It works the other direction too, if someone tells me something will do something bad…I stop eating/drinking whatever it is. I no longer drink bottled water that has gotten hot in the car. I’ll probably still get cancer from something *knock on wood* like my cell phone, or margarine, or the sun, but you better believe it won’t be from carcinogens that came from heated bottled water! But back to the cookie…

I need them! Ok, again, just a security blanket of sorts and I’ll make it. I am not a morning person and the start of my day is always the toughest. After about noon I’m good.

Today I actually felt better after lunch, but this morning I was doing my relaxation techniques and telling myself it was all in my head that I couldn’t breathe and was having heart palpitations. I think dropping my baby off with the sitter just stresses me out some days more than others. This will come up again, and there will be more of an explanation than this, but for today since my anxiety is riding my butt around my office I’m going to focus on calming my mind.

My husband has a softball tournament tonight, and before you give me the stink eye for not going remember that my son is 15 months old and BUSY, so to take him to two softball games in 94 degree heat…it’s just a bad idea. So, no dinner will be cooked tonight. I might just cook myself something I haven’t since college. Ramen. Chicken flavored Ramen. I have a girlfriend that serves it every week with shredded rotisserie chicken in it to her family. It’s a staple at her house. I suggested it to my husband and he looked at me like I had sprouted an extra head. He’s so spoiled. Before me I’m sure he ate his fair share of Ramen, I’m just sayin’.

The recipe from last night was great though, and I will include here. I can’t include a picture because it was so good we ate it all before I had the chance, but take my word for it, AWESOME!

Pizza Porcupine Patties
1 lb Hamburger
1 15 oz can of tomato sauce
1/2 cup uncooked minute rice
2 tbsp chopped green chilis (optional)
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp oregano
1 1/2 tsp beef bullion
1 cup boiling water
2 ish cups of shredded mozzarella

heat oven to 350, reserve one cup of the tomato sauce and mix remaining sauce, ground beef, rice, chilis, salt, garlic powder, and oregano together. Shape into 6m 1/2 inch thick patties and bake in an un-greased 13x9x2 inch pan uncovered.

Dissolve beef bullion in the boiling water ( I microwave the water for 2 minutes on high ) and then mix with the 1 cup sauce. Drain the fat off of the patties and then pour the sauce over the top and cook covered for 35 minutes. Remove cover, put cheese on top of each patty and cook for an additional 5 minutes.

We ate so soon after it came out of the oven that I burned the roof of my mouth with the cheese. Totally worth it. It smelled so good while it was cooking.

Might bake another peach pie or peach cobbler tonight. Gotta use the rest of the box before it goes bad! Seems sinful to waste such delicious fruit.

Enjoy the rest of your Wednesday all!

Leave a Reply

